Worldwide openings this week

1. Register in order to get a username and a password.
2. Log in with your username and password.
3. Create your announcement online.

10 May 2019

EMOP Arendt Award 2019

SMITH, Untitled Nr 017, from the series Saturnium, 2017. Courtesy galerie Les filles du calvaire

EMOP (European Month of Photography)


Exhibition opening and award ceremony: Wednesday, May 15, 2019, 18:30 at Arendt House 41A, avenue JF Kennedy, 2082 Luxembourg Artists: Carina Brandes, Matthieu Gafsou, Weronika Gęsicka, Alix Marie, SMITH.

Thomas Licek
+43 676 400 51 67

EMOP (European Month of Photography)
2 rue Alphonse Munchen
2172 Luxembourg

Share this announcement on:  |

Under the title 'Bodyfiction', the curators of EMOP (European Month of Photography) focus on the representation of the human body in contemporary photography. A publication of the same name has been published, comprising 35 outstanding European artists, all of whom deal with the photographic representation of the human figure in a progressive way. Out of those artists EMOP gladly announces the five nominees for the EMOP Arendt Award 2019:

Carina Brandes (Germany)
Matthieu Gafsou (Switzerland)
Weronika Geşicka (Poland)
Alix Marie (France)
SMITH (France)

The winner will be announced on May 15, 2019 at Arendt House during the European Month of Photography in Luxembourg.

The EMOP Arendt Award is a prestigious award established in 2013 for emerging visual artists with strong artistic ability and an evolving photographic practice. The prize is endowed with 6.000 Euro and has been given to Dionisio Gonzalez (2013), Tatiana Lecomte (2015) and Samuel Gratacap (2017).

Arendt is an independent law firm based in Luxembourg, with offices in Dubai, Hong Kong, London, Moscow, New York and Paris. Since 2013, Arendt has been affiliated with the European Month of Photography through the sponsorship of the EMOP Award, which offers a platform to five pre-selected artists chosen from the pool of artists invited to the exhibitions of the EMOP network. By rewarding young laureates and participating in EMOP exhibitions, Arendt supports the art of photography and thus seeks to awaken curiosity and the willingness to exchange.

The jury is composed of five members from the curator's board of the European Month of Photography:

Paul di Felice (Luxembourg)
Verena Kaspar-Eisert (Vienna)
Jean-Luc Soret (Paris)
Branislav Stepanek (Bratislava)
Balázs Zoltán Tóth (Budapest)