Worldwide openings this week

1. Register in order to get a username and a password.
2. Log in with your username and password.
3. Create your announcement online.

12 Jan 2013

academy noW 2012

Hirofumi Isoya, Once Night Falls, 2007

academy NoW 2012 + award


13-20 January 2013, London Tuesday-Sunday 12-6pm,
Monday closed


academy noW
30 maple street
London W1T 6HA

Share this announcement on:  |

academy noW is an independent annual survey of students recently graduated in fine art to offer them an opportunity to be seen in a non commercial environment following the completion of their art degree. It is the result of a search among London and Bologna's art colleges and it reflects the cities dynamic art scene.
What differentiates academy now from the existing mentoring exhibitions and awards, is that by selecting artists from the UK and other European art colleges, it activates stimulating dialogues between the art capitals. academy now provides its artists with an international platform where all committee members have developed their careers beyond the UK and Europe, thus being able to offer artists the opportunity to establish and develop relationships on a much broader scale.

academy noW 2012 in its first edition, includes 17 artists selected in the past 2 years: they represent varied nationality, from the UK, Europe and beyond. A few have been noticed by influential curators and collectors and are attracting media attention. Hirofumi Isoya has been invited to present his work in Venice during the next Biennale; Atsuko Nakamura´s wood installation was part of New Sensations 2011, London. David Ben White´s Pavillions were selected for New Contemporaries 2011 at the ICA, London and he has also received the Clifford Chance/University of the Arts London Sculpture Award 2012; Nicolas Feldmeyer won the Channel 4 –New Sensations Prize 2012.
The 17 artists have been invited to respond to the venue that will host the exhibition: a skeleton of a 1930s six floor building in Fitzrovia where installation, photography, video, painting and sculpture will be displayed for one week only. At the end of the exhibition an artist is nominated by the committee members and awarded with the Damiani prize.

Artists selected:
Fatma Bucak, Maarten van den Bos, Molly Clare O'Donnell, Nicolas Feldmeyer, Dominic Harris, Hirofumi Isoya, Jamie Lau, Nadege Meriau, Andrea C Morley, Atsuko Nakamura, Sarah Pager, Jess Piddock, Fabio Romano, James Smith, Inbal Strauss, Poppy Whatmore, David Ben White.

academy noW is led by voluntary Members:


Laura Petrillo, IKT independent curator, art advisor and lecturer, London-Bologna

Committee Members:
David Bate, photographer and writer, London
Ruth Dupre', artist and lecturer, London
Silvia Evangelisti, Bologna Art Fair's artistic director and professor of Art Theory, University of Bologna
Małgorzata Ludwisiak, Deputy director of the Muzeum Sztuki, curator and writer, Lodz
Ian Rosenfeld, gallery founder and curator, Rosenfeld Porcini Gallery, London
Margherita Sprio, writer and senior lecturer of Film Theory at Westminster University, London