Worldwide openings this week

1. Register in order to get a username and a password.
2. Log in with your username and password.
3. Create your announcement online.

03 Oct 2012

The Young Masters Art Prize 2012

Lottie Davies, Lou's Story, 2008. Lambda print on aluminium. Edition of 5 + 1 AP, 200cm x 124cm

The Young Masters Art Prize 2012
The Cynthia Corbett Gallery


Exhibition Part 1 at Sphinx Fine Art 125 Kensington Church Street, London, W8 7LP

Private View: Tuesday 9th October
Exhibition Dates: Tuesday 9th – Friday 26th October 2012
Exhibition & Prize Announcement at Gallery 27 Cork Street, London W1S 3NG
Exhibition Dates: Monday 19th – Saturday 24th November 2012

Laura Macfarlane
+ 44(0)20 8947 6782

The Cynthia Corbett Gallery
London SW20 8UA
United Kingdom

Share this announcement on:  |

The Young Masters Art Prize is a unique, not-for profit biennial competition open to international and UK-based artists who combine innovation with awareness of the Old Masters and art of the past. It aims to give global recognition to artists in the early stages of their career. The inaugural Young Masters Art Prize took place in 2009.

In 2008, respected American Gallerist, Cynthia Corbett had the idea of establishing the Young Masters Art Prize with the aim of celebrating artists who pay homage to the skill and traditions of the past; knowing that young artists today are not afraid, unlike their predecessors, to look back at art history and its lessons. Since then, the zeitgeist has evolved, and we have begun to witness the art community embracing the past and drawing inspiration from the Old Masters.

The Young Masters Art Prize captures the spirit of this revival. Cynthia Corbett feels that the 'Old Masters are resonant in the art world because they offer art-historical tradition and years of acclaim.'

Godfrey Barker, renowned art historian, critic and Chair Judge for Young Masters 2012, says, 'the old has something to offer the new – the past has the important lesson to teach that skill is the great enabler'. We are also delighted to announce the Guest artists Ali Assaf & Dmitri Gutov will be exhibiting alongside the shortlisted applicants.

Ali Assaf will be showing his video work Narciso, which was shown at the Iraq Pavilion Venice Biennale 2011, curated by Mary Angela Schroth. Moscow-based artist Dmitri Gutov works across a wide and diverse range of media, inspired by Russian history. Gutov also exhibited at Documenta 12 in 2007.

The Young Masters Art Prize 2012 will be curated by Russian-born Daria Khan. The judging panel includes art historian Godfrey Barker (Chair); Colin Wiggins, Special Projects Curator, National Gallery, London; Roy Bolton, art historian and Director of Sphinx Fine Art; Adam Dant, winner of the 2002 Jerwood Drawing Prize; the Belgian collector Alain Servais; Anke Adler-Slottke, Director, Christie's
International; and 2009 joint winners Ghost of a Dream.

The awards ceremony and main exhibition will take place at the end of November at Gallery 27, Cork Street; the exhibition will also be hosted at Sphinx Fine Art, Kensington.

The 2012 winner will receive £5,000 and, alongside the shortlisted artists, will have the opportunity to exhibit in special projects throughout 2013. The Artists' Collecting Society is offering £500 for each of the two highly commended artists with advice to all the shortlisted artists on artists' copyright and how to market their art.

The three winning artists will also have the opportunity to hold some selected images at the Bridgeman Art Library.

This year's shortlist for Young Masters Art Prize 2012:

Painting: Charles Moxon, Mia Brownell, Georgia Dodson, Jeff Muhs, Karim Hamid, Ethan Pollock, Christoph Steinmeyer, Brad Woodfin, Wieland Payer and Masaki Yada.

Sculpture / Ceramics: Christopher Coppers, NinaFowler, Beth Katleman, Claire Partington.

Drawing: Adrian Sykes. Photography: Karina Chechik, Lottie Davies, Fabiano Parisi, Sandy Volz and Derrick Santini.

Installation / Mixed Media: Su Ran Sichling, Kiril Ass & Anna Ratafieva, Naia del Castillo, Jane Hoodless.

Christina Benz.