Worldwide openings this week

1. Register in order to get a username and a password.
2. Log in with your username and password.
3. Create your announcement online.

13 Jul 2010

transmediale and Mozilla announce the Open Web Award 2011!

Elektrolab by Rachida Ziani & Dewi de Vree (NL) - photo by Jonathan Groeger tm10, Feb 2010

transmediale Awards competition 2011
transmediale, festival for art and digital culture berlin


Deadline for Award Entries: July 31, 2010! transmediale11 + CTM 11 / Feb 1 - 6, 2011 House of World Cultures, Berlin #tm11

Christine Bernauer
+49 30 247 49760
+49 30 247 49763

klosterstrasse 68
10179 berlin

Share this announcement on:  |

transmediale in collaboration with Mozilla have recently announced the creation of the Open Web Award 2011 a special third platform for creative excellence alongside the transmediale Award 2011 and the Vilém Flusser Theory Award 2011.

The Open Web Award is a new platform for radical, creative and innovative art works and projects that:

> are on the web and about the web
> use open and free technology
> incite participation and/or collaboration

Proposals may be critical, celebratory or both. Projects should have the potential to demonstrate and/or objectively critique the potential of open web issues, and those employing the creative use of HTML5 and other developing 'open' technologies will be given specific consideration. The point is to play with both the idea and materiality of the (open) web in ways that spark new thinking and practice.

The transmediale Award 2011 seeks original, innovative and visionary art works across a wide scope of form, process and practice. Works that embrace, question and enrich our understanding of and relationship to our globally complex, media immersed and technologically diverse society, and are exemplary of a high standard of critical digital practice are encouraged.

The Vilém Flusser Theory Award 2011 (VFTA) seeks innovative media theory and exemplary research into digital culture exploring current and pending positions in digital art, media culture and networked society. Echoing media philosopher and cultural nomad Vilém Flusser's unique investigative, cross-disciplinary and analytic approach, the Award is also open to outstanding and significant work which may be produced outside the bounds of traditional academia. Entries may include publications, positions, and projects from a broad range of theoretical, artistic, critical or design-based research that seek to establish and define new forms of exchange, vocabularies and cultural dialogue.

For all three Awards, transmediale and its partners (including CTM, the University of Arts / UdK Berlin and Mozilla) strongly encourage entries from artists and researchers, coders and activists operating in countries and regions in which critical digital art and culture are emergent.

To submit your work to the Awards competition please register and and complete the online form at

Each Award comes with a total prize of 5000 EURO, with the Open Web Award 2011 winner also given the opportunity to have supported status on Drumbeat

Jury members of the transmediale 2011 Award and the Open Web Award 2011 are Marisa Olson (New York), Matteo Pasquinelli (Amsterdam), Brandon Labelle (Berlin), Thomas Macho (Berlin), Defne Ayas (Shanghai), as well as a representative from Drumbeat for the Open Web Award 2011.

Jury of Vilém Flusser Theory Award 2011 are Marcel Rene Marburger (Cologne), Nils Roeller (Zurich), Carolyn Guertin (Austin) and Alex Galloway (New York)

Nominees for the transmediale Award and the Open Web Award will be notified in late September 2010, and in mid October for the Vilém Flusser Theory Award. After nominees have been announced an online open voting process will determine the Open Web Award finalist with the all Award Winners being announced in Berlin at transmediale.11 on Saturday February 5, 2011.

*we invite you to subscribe to our newsletter, follow transmediale on Twitter #tm11 or join the transmediale group on Facebook*