Worldwide openings this week

1. Register in order to get a username and a password.
2. Log in with your username and password.
3. Create your announcement online.

11 Jan 2018




February 3 - March 5, 2018

Carlos Celdran

Manila Biennale
5th Floor Palacio del Gobernador, General Luna Street cor. Aduana Street
1002 Manila Intramuros

Share this announcement on:  |

The Manila Biennale will be from February 3 to March 5, 2018. Manila's first biennale will feature the work of Filipino and international artists, and will be set inside the walled city of Intramuros. It's many gardens, plazas, chambers, and museums will become the platform of a truly unique art experience.

This project is a collaborative effort among Manila's arts and culture communities and will feature theater, performance art, visual arts, music, design, fashion, and architecture. This festival will reposition old Manila as a point of cultural interest for the international arts community, a flash point for art and heritage tourism to flourish in the country.

The theme for Manila Biennale 2018 is 'OPEN CITY' referring to Intramuros as the origin of the capital's culture. It is a tribute to the walled city's beginnings as a port for the Galleon Trade, a time when Manila opened itself up to the world and welcomed new ideas, products, and people. 'OPEN CITY' also refers to December 26, 1941, a vulnerable period in World War 2 when Manila was cleared of all military presence; a moment of tension between two colonized periods of our history.

The Manila Biennale is ultimately a commemoration of the Battle of Manila. It will be an art event as well as a memorial. We will reflect upon the destruction of Intramuros, recall the loss of over three centuries of art and built heritage, and honor the memory of over 100,000 civilian lives lost. By returning art, culture, and life back inside Intramuros' walls, we hope to revive the spirit of the city.

More than 40 artists will be participating, among them Agnes Arellano (PH), Renz Baluyot (PH), Zeus Bascon (PH), Aigars Bikse (LVS), Dulce Chacon (MX), Nicolas Combarro (SP), Patrick Cruz (PH), Mideo Cruz (PH), Kiri Dalena (PH), Tad Ermitano (PH), Pete Jimenez (PH), Hikaru Fujii (JP), Caroline Garcia (AUS), Ioana Georgescu (CA), Henri Lamy (FRA), Hamish Lang (AUS), Jack Mernin (USA), M.O.B. (USA/PH), MODELAB (MX), Wawi Navarroza (PH), Henri van Noordenburg (NLD), Ross Pastrana (PH), Mark Salvatus, (PH), Julie Tolentino (USA), Khan Oral (DE), Maylee Todd (CA), Tina Stevens (AUS), and others.